Dynamic Severity Levels

In order to help you decide which security findings to tackle first, Bearer CLI dynamically sets the severity of each detection. There are five levels: critical, high, medium, low, and warning. You'll see this in the security report output like in the finding below which has a severity of "High":

HIGH: Sensitive data stored in HTML local storage detected. [CWE-312]
To skip this rule, use the flag --skip-rule=javascript_lang_session

File: frontend/src/app/login/login.component.ts:102

102 localStorage.setItem('email', this.user.email)

Bearer CLI's ability to dynamically set severity means a single rule can trigger at multiple severity levels depending on how severe or risky the code appears.

This doc explains how Bearer CLI calculates severity and the rationale behind behind the algorithm.

Base rule severity

Each rule defines a severity level in its YML config:

severity: low

This is the rule's base or default severity. It is the lowest severity the rule can have, but depending on other variables that we'll get into shortly, that level can go higher. The only exception is "warning" which is not affected by the dynamic severity system and will never increase.

The base severity level of default rules comes from an overall assessment of the rule, but is highly influenced by community resources like the CWE Top 25 Most Dangerous Software Weaknesses and similar guidance from the industry. If you're building a custom rule, we recommend using a base severity level that best fits your risk assessment for the rule.

Sensitive data category

Bearer CLI focuses on four main sensitive data categories: Personal Health Information (PHI), Personally Identifiable Information (PII), Personal Data (PD), and Personal Data (Sensitive) (PDS). Our detection and classification engine looks at the data types and then takes the category with the highest risk into account to determine how severe a leak of that data would be.

Trigger type

The algorithm also considers how the rule is triggered. Rule triggers are split into a few categories:

  • local: The rule triggers if the pattern in the rule exists.
  • global: These rules should only trigger when Bearer CLI detects data types anywhere in the codebase.
  • presence: These rules trigger if the code exists, but isn’t dependent on data types. This could be a bad practice, but not data-specific.
  • absence:  These rules expect code to exist, but can’t find it. Examples are best practices, must-have settings, etc.

Note: These categories don’t map directly to configuration options in rule YAML files. See the custom rule guide for which trigger types to use when writing your own rules.

Assigning weights to each variable

With these criteria in mind, we assign weights to each based on how damaging a breach of the data could be. For base severity, the weights are as follows:

critical: 8
high: 5
medium: 3
low: 2
warning: 1

For sensitive data categories, the weights are as follows:

PHI: 3
PDS: 3
PD: 2
PII: 1

For trigger type, the weights are as follows:

local: 2
global: 1
presence: 1
absence: 1

Determining final severity

The end result is a formula to assess the severity each time a rule triggers.

Final severity = base severity + (Data Category * Trigger)

As an example, a rule with a base severity of medium that detects PII with a local trigger would result in the following formula:

# Medium + (PII * local) = High
3 + (1 * 2) = 5

Actionable prioritization

All of this is an effort to help you and developers on your team prioritize which findings to investigate first. We believe by connecting a base severity threshold with key contextual factors, Bearer CLI offers a more accurate roadmap for tackling security improvements.

If you have additional questions on how the severity system works or would like to suggest improvements, file an issue or join our Discord community.

Ready to take the next step? Learn more about Bearer Cloud.